English holidaymakers in Spain will have to quarantine on return after surprise change of policy | UK News

English holidaymakers in Spain will have to quarantine on return after surprise change of policy | UK News

English holidaymakers arriving back from Spain will have to quarantine for 14 days – after the government reportedly added it to the list of at-risk countries with just a few hours’ notice.

The PA news agency is reporting the change, with a formal announcement expected to be made by the Department for Transport later.

It means people arriving back from Spain from midnight – and those who have booked a summer holiday there – face the prospect of two weeks in isolation upon returning.

The Scottish government lifted its quarantine rules on Spain this week – but says it will now reimpose them.

Spain was one of more than 70 countries and territories included in the first wave of England’s travel corridors earlier this month – meaning people could travel without needing to quarantine afterwards.

But a day after five more countries were added to the list, Spain has been removed due to spikes in coronavirus cases.

On Friday, Spain logged 922 infections, slightly down from 971 the day before, but officials are tracking more than 280 active outbreaks across the country.

The Spanish government has warned it could already be having a “second wave” of the illness, as France, Germany and Belgium all reported steep rises in their number of cases.

Spain currently has more than 272,000 cases of coronavirus, while more than 28,000 people have died there after catching it, according to Johns Hopkins University, which is tracking the global pandemic.

Among the countries also not on the list are the US, Portugal, Sweden, Mexico, Brazil, Russia, Iran, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and China.

Portugal’s prime minister has said his country is in talks with the British government over its exclusion.

The Department for Transport has said the approved destinations pose “a reduced risk to the public health of UK citizens”, but the list will be kept “under constant review”.

Wales and Northern Ireland have broadly followed the English approach. The full list of Scottish exemptions can be found here.

The full list for England is as follows:

  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Estonia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Reunion
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • St Barthelemy
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City
  • Vietnam

Source link

No Comments

Post A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.